EU roaming on SIM-only plans, compared
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you join a network through one, we may earn a commission. It never changes the order. Plans are ranked by what they cost you, and we link every network we compare. How affiliate links work
Six of the seven networks we compare let you use your plan in the EU at no extra cost. But the data you can use there is capped, and VOXI charges for a pass. Here is the full picture.
One week of using your plan in the EU
All 7 networksWhat "roaming included" actually includes
| Network | EU roaming | Data you can use there | On an unlimited plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lebara EU | Included | not stated | not stated |
| Lyca EU | Included | 2.5–35GB | 30–35GB |
| SMARTY EU | Included | 12GB | 12GB |
| Tesco Mobile 48 Home from Home destinations | Included | not stated | not stated |
| VOXI EU | Pass needed: £15.00 for 8 days | 20GB | 20GB |
| giffgaff EU | Included | 5GB | 5GB |
| iD Mobile 50 destinations | Included | 30GB | 30GB |
"Unlimited" at home is not unlimited abroad: most networks state a cap on how much data you can use in the EU, often far below what people expect. Where a network states no cap, fair use still applies; check its roaming page before you travel.
VOXIThe VOXI European Roaming Pass
VOXI is the only one of the seven that charges to roam in the EU. You buy a pass, which lets you use your plan allowance there (up to 20GB of data) for a set number of days. The days count from when you buy it, not when you first use it.
| Pass | Price | Per day |
|---|---|---|
| 1 day | £2.60 | £2.60 |
| 2 days | £4.80 | £2.40 |
| 8 days | £15.00 | £1.88 |
| 15 days | £20.00 | £1.33 |
Pass prices from VOXI's help page, checked 3 October 2026; VOXI says they apply from 30 May 2025. VOXI also lets you use your plan in Ireland, the Isle of Man, Iceland and Norway without a pass.
Compare networksHead to head
The small print, in large printWhat these numbers don't tell you
- Real cost / month assumes you join on 2 October 2026 and stay for the whole contract. Rolling plans are costed over 24 months at today's price; a rolling plan's price is not fixed unless the network says so, but you can leave any month.
- Stated price rises are included where the network publishes them in pounds and pence. Where a network says nothing about rises, we assume none, which may flatter it.
- Not included yet: early exit fees on contracts, speed caps, fair-use limits on "unlimited" data, tethering limits and charges for going over your allowance. We have not collected these, so we make no claims about them.
- £/GB uses the ongoing allowance, not temporary bonus data.
- Price over time bars: green months are an intro price, grey the normal price, red months after a stated rise. Bar height is that month's price.
- Coverage depends on where you live. Check your postcode on Ofcom's coverage checker.
- Roaming terms change and fair-use limits apply. Allowances are as each network states them on its plan pages; check the network's roaming page before you travel, especially outside the EU.