on VodafoneLebaravson EELyca
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you join a network through one, we may earn a commission. It never changes the order. Plans are ranked by what they cost you, and we link every network we compare. How affiliate links work
We compared every Lebara and Lyca plan by what it costs per month across the whole contract, not the price in the advert.
Lebara runs on Vodafone's network and Lyca on EE's, so coverage can differ street by street. Check your postcode on Ofcom's coverage checker before choosing on price.
The verdictWhich is cheaper?
Light use (5GB+)
Near enough a tie
Lebara: 12-month 5GB (1000 mins)
Lyca: PAYG UK Plan Smart (1000 mins) · 5GB
Lyca advertises £3.50: an intro price for 1 month.
Everyday (30GB+)
Lyca
Lebara: 12-month 30GB
Lyca: Pay monthly 24m 50GB
£18.00 a year less with Lyca
Lyca advertises £4.00: an intro price for 3 months.
Heavy use (100GB+)
Lyca
Lebara: 12-month 100GB
Lyca: Pay monthly 24m 100GB
£90.00 a year less with Lyca
Lyca advertises £6.00: an intro price for 6 months.
Unlimited data
Lyca
Lebara: 12-month Unlimited
Lyca: Pay monthly 24m Unlimited
£81.00 a year less with Lyca
Lyca advertises £9.00: an intro price for 6 months.
Lyca is cheaper for 3 of 4 uses at the price everyone pays.
Side by sideAt a glance
| Lebara | Lyca | |
|---|---|---|
| Network it runs on | Vodafone | EE |
| Contracts | rolling, 12 months | rolling, 12 months, 24 months |
| Price rises | Price locked: no annual rises | Locked on some plans; not stated on others |
| EU roaming | Included (allowance not stated) | Included, 2.5–35GB depending on plan |
| Cheapest plan | £4.50/mo · 5GB | £4.94/mo · 5GB |
| Cheapest unlimited | £22.50/mo · 12 months | £15.75/mo · 24 months |
| 5G | Included | Included |
Monthly vs contractThe cost of not being tied in
- Lebara: rolling from £10.00/month vs £9.00 on a 12-month contract. Not being tied in costs about £12.00 a year.
- Lyca: rolling from £9.79/month vs £7.50 on a 24-month contract. Not being tied in costs about £27.50 a year.
Read before you switchCatches worth knowing
- The advert is the intro price. Lyca's Pay monthly 24m Unlimited Plus is advertised at £12.00, but costs £21.00 a month across the contract: 75% more.
- Better plan, same network. 3 of these 35 plans are beaten by another plan from the same network: more data for the same or less money. They carry a green tag below.
12 plansEvery Lebara plan, by real monthly cost
What the columns mean
- Plan
- The network's own name for the plan. The coloured tags under it are the catches: intro prices, bonus data that ends, Clubcard-only prices, price rises and roaming limits.
- Data
- Your monthly UK data once any bonus data has ended. "Unlimited" is subject to the network's fair-use policy.
- Contract
- Rolling: a monthly plan you can leave any month. Its price is not fixed unless the network says so. 12m / 18m / 24m: a fixed-term contract for that many months, usually cheaper per month but you are tied in, and leaving early normally costs a fee. We have not collected exit fees, so check the network's terms.
- Real cost / month
- The average of every monthly payment across the whole contract (24 months for rolling plans), including intro prices ending and stated price rises. This is the number plans are ranked by, not the advertised price.
- Price over time
- Each block is a run of months at one price. Green is an intro price, grey the normal price, red the price after a stated rise. Taller means dearer.
- Total
- Everything you would pay across the contract (24 months for rolling plans).
- £/GB
- Real cost per month divided by the monthly data. Lower is better value. Not shown for unlimited plans.
- EU roaming
- Whether you can use your allowance in the EU at no extra cost, and any data cap while you are there.
| PlanThe network's own name for the plan. The coloured tags under it are the catches: intro prices, bonus data that ends, Clubcard-only prices, price rises and roaming limits. | DataYour monthly UK data once any bonus data has ended. "Unlimited" is subject to the network's fair-use policy. | ContractRolling: a monthly plan you can leave any month. Its price is not fixed unless the network says so. 12m / 18m / 24m: a fixed-term contract for that many months, usually cheaper per month but you are tied in, and leaving early normally costs a fee. We have not collected exit fees, so check the network's terms. | Real cost / monthThe average of every monthly payment across the whole contract (24 months for rolling plans), including intro prices ending and stated price rises. This is the number plans are ranked by, not the advertised price. | Price over timeEach block is a run of months at one price. Green is an intro price, grey the normal price, red the price after a stated rise. Taller means dearer. | TotalEverything you would pay across the contract (24 months for rolling plans). | £/GBReal cost per month divided by the monthly data. Lower is better value. Not shown for unlimited plans. | EU roamingWhether you can use your allowance in the EU at no extra cost, and any data cap while you are there. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
12-month 5GB (1000 mins)5GB · 12 months
| 5GB | 12m | £4.50 | £54.00 12 months | £0.90 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
30-day 5GB (1000 mins)5GB · Rolling monthly
| 5GB | Rolling | £5.00 | £120.00 24 months | £1.00 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
| 12-month 30GB30GB · 12 months | 30GB | 12m | £9.00 | £108.00 12 months | £0.30 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
| 30-day 30GB30GB · Rolling monthly | 30GB | Rolling | £10.00 | £240.00 24 months | £0.33 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
| 12-month 50GB50GB · 12 months | 50GB | 12m | £13.50 | £162.00 12 months | £0.27 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
| 30-day 50GB50GB · Rolling monthly | 50GB | Rolling | £15.00 | £360.00 24 months | £0.30 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
| 12-month 100GB100GB · 12 months | 100GB | 12m | £18.00 | £216.00 12 months | £0.18 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
| 30-day 100GB100GB · Rolling monthly | 100GB | Rolling | £20.00 | £480.00 24 months | £0.20 | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
12-month UnlimitedUnlimited · 12 months
| Unlimited | 12m | £22.50 | £270.00 12 months | — | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
30-day UnlimitedUnlimited · Rolling monthly
| Unlimited | Rolling | £25.00 | £600.00 24 months | — | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
12-month Unlimited PlusUnlimited · 12 months
| Unlimited | 12m | £27.00 | £324.00 12 months | — | included (fair use applies) | Lebara | |
30-day Unlimited PlusUnlimited · Rolling monthly
| Unlimited | Rolling | £30.00 | £720.00 24 months | — | included (fair use applies) | Lebara |
23 plansEvery Lyca plan, by real monthly cost
| PlanThe network's own name for the plan. The coloured tags under it are the catches: intro prices, bonus data that ends, Clubcard-only prices, price rises and roaming limits. | DataYour monthly UK data once any bonus data has ended. "Unlimited" is subject to the network's fair-use policy. | ContractRolling: a monthly plan you can leave any month. Its price is not fixed unless the network says so. 12m / 18m / 24m: a fixed-term contract for that many months, usually cheaper per month but you are tied in, and leaving early normally costs a fee. We have not collected exit fees, so check the network's terms. | Real cost / monthThe average of every monthly payment across the whole contract (24 months for rolling plans), including intro prices ending and stated price rises. This is the number plans are ranked by, not the advertised price. | Price over timeEach block is a run of months at one price. Green is an intro price, grey the normal price, red the price after a stated rise. Taller means dearer. | TotalEverything you would pay across the contract (24 months for rolling plans). | £/GBReal cost per month divided by the monthly data. Lower is better value. Not shown for unlimited plans. | EU roamingWhether you can use your allowance in the EU at no extra cost, and any data cap while you are there. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
PAYG UK Plan Smart (1000 mins)5GB · Rolling monthly
| 5GB | Rolling | £4.94advert £3.50+41% vs advert | £118.50 24 months | £0.99 | included (5GB cap) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 24m 12GB12GB · 24 months
| 12GB | 24m | £5.62advert £3.00+88% vs advert | £135.00 24 months | £0.47 | included (2.5GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 1m 6GB6GB · Rolling monthly
| 6GB | Rolling | £5.62advert £3.00+88% vs advert | £135.00 24 months | £0.94 | included (2.5GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 12m 10GB10GB · 12 months
| 10GB | 12m | £5.75advert £3.00+92% vs advert | £69.00 12 months | £0.57 | included (2.5GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 24m 50GB50GB · 24 months
| 50GB | 24m | £7.50advert £4.00+88% vs advert | £180.00 24 months | £0.15 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 12m 40GB40GB · 12 months
| 40GB | 12m | £7.67advert £4.00+92% vs advert | £92.00 12 months | £0.19 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
PAYG National Plus30GB · Rolling monthly
| 30GB | Rolling | £9.79advert £5.00+96% vs advert | £235.00 24 months | £0.33 | included (12GB cap) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 1m 30GB30GB · Rolling monthly
| 30GB | Rolling | £9.79advert £5.00+96% vs advert | £235.00 24 months | £0.33 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 24m 100GB100GB · 24 months
| 100GB | 24m | £10.50advert £6.00+75% vs advert | £252.00 24 months | £0.10 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 12m 90GB90GB · 12 months
| 90GB | 12m | £10.50advert £6.00+75% vs advert | £126.00 12 months | £0.12 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 24m 120GB120GB · 24 months
| 120GB | 24m | £14.00advert £8.00+75% vs advert | £336.00 24 months | £0.12 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
PAYG UK Plan Super Extra75GB · Rolling monthly
| 75GB | Rolling | £14.69advert £7.50+96% vs advert | £352.50 24 months | £0.20 | included (12GB cap) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 1m 50GB50GB · Rolling monthly
| 50GB | Rolling | £14.69advert £7.50+96% vs advert | £352.50 24 months | £0.29 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 24m UnlimitedUnlimited · 24 months
| Unlimited | 24m | £15.75advert £9.00+75% vs advert | £378.00 24 months | — | included (30GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 12m 120GB120GB · 12 months
| 120GB | 12m | £15.75advert £9.00+75% vs advert | £189.00 12 months | £0.13 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 12m UnlimitedUnlimited · 12 months
| Unlimited | 12m | £19.25advert £11.00+75% vs advert | £231.00 12 months | — | included (30GB) | Lyca | |
PAYG UK Plan Mega Plus120GB · Rolling monthly
| 120GB | Rolling | £19.58advert £10.00+96% vs advert | £470.00 24 months | £0.16 | included (12GB cap) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 24m Unlimited PlusUnlimited · 24 months
| Unlimited | 24m | £21.00advert £12.00+75% vs advert | £504.00 24 months | — | included (35GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 1m 120GB120GB · Rolling monthly
| 120GB | Rolling | £21.54advert £11.00+96% vs advert | £517.00 24 months | £0.18 | included (12GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 1m UnlimitedUnlimited · Rolling monthly
| Unlimited | Rolling | £23.50advert £12.00+96% vs advert | £564.00 24 months | — | included (30GB) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 12m Unlimited PlusUnlimited · 12 months
| Unlimited | 12m | £23.62advert £13.50+75% vs advert | £283.50 12 months | — | included (35GB) | Lyca | |
PAYG UK Plan UnlimitedUnlimited · Rolling monthly
| Unlimited | Rolling | £24.48advert £12.50+96% vs advert | £587.50 24 months | — | included (35GB cap) | Lyca | |
Pay monthly 1m Unlimited PlusUnlimited · Rolling monthly
| Unlimited | Rolling | £29.38advert £15.00+96% vs advert | £705.00 24 months | — | included (35GB) | Lyca |
The small print, in large printWhat these numbers don't tell you
- Real cost / month assumes you join on 2 October 2026 and stay for the whole contract. Rolling plans are costed over 24 months at today's price; a rolling plan's price is not fixed unless the network says so, but you can leave any month.
- Stated price rises are included where the network publishes them in pounds and pence. Where a network says nothing about rises, we assume none, which may flatter it.
- Not included yet: early exit fees on contracts, speed caps, fair-use limits on "unlimited" data, tethering limits and charges for going over your allowance. We have not collected these, so we make no claims about them.
- £/GB uses the ongoing allowance, not temporary bonus data.
- Price over time bars: green months are an intro price, grey the normal price, red months after a stated rise. Bar height is that month's price.
- Coverage depends on where you live. Check your postcode on Ofcom's coverage checker.